Carob, Coconut & Sunflower Bites (paleo)


After reading about carob and how it tastes like cocoa, I was fascinated and bought a bag. During that time, I hadn’t eaten chocolate or cocoa for a while because it was causing me issues. An alternative to cocoa that tastes like cocoa? Sign me up. Well, I hate to say it, it does not taste like cocoa. Slightly malty and sweet, yes, but definitely not cocoa-ey.

So there I was, stuck with a bag of carob and not knowing what to do with it. I stumbled over this recipe, which is pretty good. It’s packed full of nutrition and was a great way of using up the carob!


CAROB, COCONUT & SUNFLOWER BITES (paleo)

adapted from paleo plan: paleo candy bars


Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoons melted coconut oil
  • 30 g (1/4 cup) carob powder
  • 70 g (1/2 cup) sunflower seeds, ground
  • 75 g (3/4 cup) unsweetened, desiccated (shredded) coconut
    1 tablespoon softened honey


Method

1. Mix everything together and press into a small container lined with parchment.

2. Chill until set. Remove from container and cut into squares. Enjoy!

One thought on “Carob, Coconut & Sunflower Bites (paleo)

Leave a comment