Chocolate Syrup

 

Last summer, I had this thing for Caffé Ladro’s dark chocolate mocha, made with soy milk. Don’t ask me why, I’m usually a double espresso girl. 

As most people know, any blended espresso drinks aren’t cheap and it can soon turn out to be an expensive habit.

With a dark chocolate mocha, I know that it consists of milk, chocolate syrup and coffee – sounds easy enough to replicate at home, right? I also know that MOST store-bought chocolate syrups are packed full of nasties, such as corn syrup. Thus, I was in the hunt for a good chocolate syrup recipe. My hunt came to an end when I found this recipe. It sounded easy and I had all the organic ingredients at hand.

The resulting syrup was delicious – it was thick, chocolatey with a caramel undertone. It’s not only good in coffee, but delicious over a good quality vanilla ice-cream and for chocolate milkshake.

 

CHOCOLATE SYRUP

Adapted from Recipezaar – Chocolate Syrup

Makes 650 ml (about 2-2 ½ c)

 

Ingredients

  • 75 g (¾ c) organic cocoa
  • 330 g (1 ⅓ c) organic sugar
  • 360 g (1 ½ c)  filtered water
  • 1 t vanilla extract

 

Method

1. In a saucepan, mix together all of the ingredients until well combined.

2. Place over a medium heat, stirring continuously until the mixture starts to boil.

3. Allow to boil rapidly for 5-7 minutes until thickened, stirring occasionally.

4. Allow to cool before pouring into a storage container and store in the fridge until required. Enjoy!

Leave a comment