Oven-Baked Plantain Fries

plantain-fries


I have a serious problem with plantain chips. I open a bag, and they’re gone. For me, the most addictive variety is made by Turbana. Plantain chips are a great alternative to potato chips (nightshade-free) and are incredibly addictive. A small handful is never enough. I think on my worst week (or best, depending how you see it), I ate six; yes six 200 g (7 oz) bags. If you’re into counting calories, that’s a total of 6300 calories, and 294 g fat. It’s just as well those numbers don’t freak me out, isn’t it? I dream about plantain chips, and they don’t last long in our house. The simplest way of avoiding ballooning on these things is to not buy them. Thankfully, I cannot buy them in any nearby store, so it takes more effort for them to find their way into our house.

I decided to go to a healthier route: oven-baked plantain fries. Since green plantains are starchy like potatoes, you’d think they would make excellent fries. They might still, but I realized the oven-baked variety just won’t cut it, unless you’re into eating cardboard. They were incredibly dry, chewy and unappetizing. Maybe I didn’t use enough oil?

This recipe was added to this blog for completeness. I won’t be making them again.


OVEN-BAKED PLANTAIN FRIES

serves 1-2


Ingredients

  • 1-2 green plantain, peeled and cut into fries
  • melted coconut oil
  • salt and pepper, to taste


Method

1. Preheat the oven to 200 C (400 F).

2. Toss the plantain fries with 1-2 teaspoon coconut oil, and season with salt and pepper.

3. Bake in the middle of the preheated oven for 20-25 minutes, turning halfway, or until browned.

One thought on “Oven-Baked Plantain Fries

Leave a Reply

