Mashed Celeriac (nightshade-free)

mashed-celeriac


I was never a huge fan of mashed potatoes as a kid. I blame this on school dinners (I mean lunch, school lunches), which consisted of lumpy and watery mash, ugh. Later, I upgraded to instant mash… I know, I know, instant mash! Even then, I was eating it out of convenience rather than something I craved. That was until I had A’s mash. He makes the best mash in the world, seriously! It’s creamy, dreamy, smooth, and just so darn good! It’s like a semi-liquid fat, where the potatoes are the vehicle in which to transport butter into your mouth.

Anyway, moving on, I no longer eat nightshades, which puts mashed potatoes off the menu. I have tried mashed cauliflower, which is a pretty good alternative, and is what I use in my fish pie. This time I wanted to try celeriac. This mash may not be suitable for everyone, as it has a well-defined celery flavor (not surprisingly), but it is a great side for any meal. You can spruce it up as much as you like, by adding butter, cream, roasted garlic, herbs and more. It’s totally up to you.


MASHED CELERIAC (nightshade-free)


Ingredients

  • 1 head of celeriac, peeled and chopped into 2 cm (3/4 inch) cubes
  • butter, oil, milk, cream, other additions
  • salt and pepper, to taste


Method

1. Bring a large pot of salted water to boil. Add the celeriac, and cook until fork-tender, about 15-20 minutes.

2. Drain, and transfer the cooked celeriac to a food processor. Blitz until smooth.

3. Add your additions, and season with salt and pepper, blitz again. Serve. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

