Paleo Coconut Flour English Breakfast Muffins (gluten-, dairy-free)

english breakfast muffin butter


Wow. I haven’t eaten something that resembles bread for a loooong time. I don’t miss bready things, so I guess I am one of the fortunate ones. However, after seeing this recipe, I was really curious to try what these muffins tasted like. They were pretty good, especially with jam (or butter and jam, if you can eat dairy).

I must note that if you’re looking for a like-for-like replacement of the gluten English muffins these aren’t it. There are rather like an eggy splat of coconut batter, microwaved in a ramekin and then pan-fried/toasted with butter/coconut oil in a frying pan.

I did think about having these muffins with poached or fried eggs, but then realized that I’d prefer eggs on their own.


PALEO COCONUT FLOUR ENGLISH BREAKFAST MUFFINS

makes 1

adapted from beauty and the foodie: quick paleo english muffins


Ingredients

  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda (bicarbonate of soda)
  • 1/8 teaspoon apple cider vinegar
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 3-4 teaspoons water
  • 1 tablespoon coconut flour
  • coconut oil for greasing


Method

1. Grease one 9 cm (3.5 inch) diameter ramekin with coconut oil.

2. In a small bowl, mix together baking soda and apple cider vinegar. Set aside. It will be bubbly.

3. Add the remaining ingredients into the ramekin and mix with a fork. Add baking soda-apple cider vinegar mix and stir well until clump free.

4. Cook in microwave for 1 minute and 15 seconds (more/less, depending on the power of your microwave), until the middle is firm.

5. Loosen muffin with a knife and unmold. Once cool enough to handle, slice sideways, and toast in a lightly buttered/oiled frying pan until browned to your liking on each side. Enjoy with the toppings or fillings of your choice!

3 thoughts on “Paleo Coconut Flour English Breakfast Muffins (gluten-, dairy-free)

  1. Hi Linda,
    Like you I found a microwave recipe for an English muffin. But I thought using one egg per muffin was a little extravagant, so I came up with a vegan version of it, which I should be posting soonish. Mine also has more flour in it so it cooks longer. I haven’t tried with coconut flour yet, I’m sure it gives it a great taste.

Leave a Reply

