Chinese Sweet Mung Bean Soup (honey-sweetened)

mung bean soup


There are times that I really crave the foods that I ate as a kid. This soup is one of them. It’s just so comforting! My mum used to make it occasionally, and although it wasn’t my favourite thing to eat, it was sweet, thick and incredibly soothing. I hadn’t eaten this for yonks, and thought it was time to revisit it, so I made it for my birthday. I know, this is a little bit weird, but it was my birthday.

Instead of using rock sugar, I used honey. I wasn’t sure that this would work, and was a little concerned that the honey might overpower the soup, but nope, it turned out great. It was hard to decide if I prefer this hot or cold. Both were pretty darn good.


CHINESE SWEET MUNG BEAN SOUP

serves 4

adapted from the tasty spot: chinese green mung bean soup


Ingredients

  • 140 g (5 oz, 2/3 c) dry green mung beans, rinsed until water runs clear, drained
  • 960 ml (4 cups) filtered water
  • 4 tablespoons honey, or to taste


Method

1. Place beans and water into a saucepan. Heat over medium-high heat until the water comes to a boil.

2. Turn heat down to medium, stirring occasionally, and simmer for 20 minutes, or until the beans are plump and start to split.

3. When all the beans have split (you will be able to see the yellow interior), add honey to taste.

4. Serve warm or chilled, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

