Kettle Popcorn

kettle popcorn


This popcorn so addictive. It has the perfect balance of sweetness and saltiness. I had no idea what kettle corn was until very recently. I had seen it being sold in fairs/carnivals etc, but not once did I try any (worries of GMO corn). The thing is, I do love popcorn, and used to coat it thickly with butter and sugar, but that was in my past life. Nowadays, I toss it with olive/coconut oil and sea salt (oh by the way, I lurrrrrrve salt).

I find it incredible the price that people are willing to pay for popped corn in the US. There are stand-alone stores that sell just popped corn!?! Then there are the huge gift tins of popcorn people buy over the holidays. For a gift, I made A some kettle corn and packed it in a gift tin. Turned out he really liked it!

This popcorn is awesome. It’s crunchy and crispy, with just the right amount of sweet and salt. I bet you can’t just have one.

Advisory note: try not to heat the oil/pan too much, otherwise you will end up with burnt popcorn… not fun and definitely not tasty.


KETTLE POPCORN

adapted from savory sweet life: kettle corn


Ingredients

  • 2 teaspoons coconut oil
  • 55 g (4 tablespoons) popping corn
  • 25 g (2 tablespoons) raw cane (turbinado) sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon fine sea salt


Method

1. Heat oil in a large pot over medium heat.

2. Stir in popping corn and sugar. Cover with lid.

3. Once popping starts, shake the pot every now and then until popping slows down.

4. Immediately transfer to a large bowl. Add salt. Stir and break up any clumps with a large metal spoon.

5. Let cool slightly (unless you want second degree burns in your mouth… it’s like I’m talking from personal experience or something), then enjoy!

Leave a Reply

