Coconut Milk Eggnog (Dairy-Free, Honey-Sweetened)

df coconut milk eggnog


I find the store-bought eggnog pretty artificial tasting and yucky… that’s from me just tasting it. When I actually read the ingredients, I feel even yuckier.

We never drank eggnog growing up, although my mummy used to make us an eggnog-gy-esque drink, which was made from full-fat (whole) milk, eggs and sugar, and was enjoyed warm. Notice there were no spices involved. I had a love-hate relationship with this drink. I would crave it, but then when I had a bit, I’d get sick. I guess moderation was the key, or maybe it was my gut telling a younger me that I shouldn’t be drinking cow milk and sugar?

Last holiday season, I felt like I was missing out, and was oddly craving some custard-based drink, which was creamy, rich, eggy and well spiced. I created this recipe by using canned full-fat coconut milk, honey, egg, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves, sea salt. The result was pretty darn good, and the recipe makes just enough for one glass. Mmmmm. Check out my foamy mustache!


COCONUT MILK EGGNOG (dairy-free, honey-sweetened)

makes one serving

adapted from honey and spice: best-ever traditional eggnog


Ingredients

  • 1 large egg yolk
  • 20 g (1 tablespoon) raw honey, or to taste
  • 120 ml (1/2 cup) full-fat canned coconut milk
  • 60 ml (1/4 cup) water
  • 1 small pinch vanilla powder
  • 1 small pinch sea salt
  • 1 pinch ground cinnamon
  • 1 pinch ground nutmeg
  • 1 pinch ground cloves
  • 1 large egg white, beaten to soft peaks


Method

1. Place the egg yolk, honey, coconut milk, water, vanilla powder, sea salt, cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves in a saucepan. Whisk until evenly combined.

2. Gently heat the mixture over low heat, whisking continuously until slightly thickened.

3. Remove from the heat, let cool, and then chill.

4. When the eggnog is well chilled, fold in the egg white and pour into your glass to enjoy. Grate a little extra nutmeg on top, if desired.

Leave a Reply

