Pan-Fried Plantain Chips in Coconut Oil

plantain chips 2
One of my favorite Trader Joe’s snacks was their roasted plantain chips. They are crunchy, salty and incredibly moreish. Unfortunately, they make them with refined oil and it is not clear if they are made on an allergen-free line. In the past, I wouldn’t have cared, but now, if I’m in doubt, I just don’t eat it.

I have tried microwaving plantain chips, and although they were good, they weren’t good enough to go through the trouble again. You see, the problem is when I go grocery shopping when I’m hungry. I tend to stock up on snack foods. My snack foods are thankfully different to the average person’s snack foods. They often include fruits, nuts and, in this case, plantain. I bought two. The plan was to fry them in coconut oil for a delicious salty, crunchy snack. They did not disappoint.

I like this recipe because the chips are simply pan-fried, not deep fried, which means no yucky oil to deal with afterwards. I used about 1-2 tablespoons per batch, and sprinkled them generously with Himalayan pink salt. One word: delishhhhhh.

It’s pretty hard to resist trying these whilst cooking them, in fact, they are so delicious, I urge you to eat them as you make them.


PAN-FRIED PLANTAIN CHIPS IN COCONUT OIL

Serves 1-3 (depending how greedy you are)


Ingredients

  • 2 green plantains, skinned and sliced in half crosswise, and sliced into thin strips
  • unrefined coconut oil
  • himalayan pink salt/sea salt, or seasonings of your choice


Method

1. Line a plate with kitchen (paper) towels; set aside.

2. Heat a large frying pan with 1-2 tablespoons of coconut oil until really hot.

3. Add one slice of plantain at a time to the pan until the surface of the pan is covered up. Let cook until golden and crisp before turning each slice.

4. Shake off any excess oil and transfer to the lined plate. Sprinkle with salt/seasonings of your choice.

5. Repeat until all slices are cooked. Pop into your mouth and enjoy.

Leave a Reply

