Sweet and Sour Chicken / Pork

sweet and sour


I have never have liked sweet and sour sauce, whether it was with vegetables, chicken, pork, or prawns! I hated the smell. I hated the consistency. I just plain hated it. The funniest thing is that I have never tried it, but the smell of vinegar has always put me off food.

Since I hate it so much, I never paid any attention to how my father made it.

So why am I blogging about it? Well…. A likes it, and I stumbled across a recipe on Yammie’s Gluten Freedom. I have no way to judge how good this is, but I am 110% certain that my father does not make it this way. A likes it, so that’s good enough for me.


SWEET AND SOUR CHICKEN / PORK

adapted from yammie’s gluten freedom: sweet and sour chicken

serves 1-2


Ingredients

  • 50 g (¼ c) raw cane (turbinado) sugar
  • 2 tablespoons tomato ketchup
  • 2 tablespoons rice vinegar
  • 1 ½ teaspoons light soy sauce
  • ½ teaspoon roasted garlic flakes
  • 2 tablespoon coconut oil
  • 75 g (2.6 oz) green beans, snipped into 2.5 cm (1 inch pieces)
  • 75 g (2.6 oz) red peppers, cut into 2.5 cm (1 inch chunks)
  • 150 g (5.25 oz) chicken breast/pork, cut into 2 cm (3/4 inch) cubes, lightly seasoned with salt and pepper, and tossed in corn flour (cornstarch)
  • cooked rice to serve


Method

1. To make the sauce, mix together the sugar, ketchup, vinegar, soy sauce and garlic flakes.

2. In a large frying pan, heat 1 tablespoon oil over medium-high heat until nearly smoking. Fry chicken, stirring occasionally, until lightly golden and cooked through. Set aside.

3. Heat the remaining oil in the pan, and stir-fry the green beans and peppers until cooked, but still crunchy, around 2 minutes.

4. Add the chicken and sauce to the pan and stir everything together until bubbly and thickened, about 1-2 minute.

5. Pour over hot rice and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

