Strawberry Cream Pie (gluten-, dairy-, refined sugar, soy-free)

strawberry cream pie whole

strawberry cream pie sliced

 
My. Oh. My.

This cheesecake-esque pie is probably the best dessert that I’ve had in a looooong time. It’s creamy, rich, dense, strawberry-ish and incredibly delicious! It’s easy to make and packed full of all the good stuff, including nuts, coconut oil, strawberries, honey and coconut. What’s better still is that it’s gluten-free, dairy-free, refined sugar-free and soy-free) and paleo-friendly!

I’ve been longing to make this recipe for a long time. Since I only buy expensive nuts now (gluten-free, soy-free, organic), I have been enjoying them as they are, that is, as nuts. Using them in a recipe seemed a little wasteful, but after my recent delivery of $165 in nuts, A thoughtfully made this for me. We used 70 g (2.45 oz) walnuts of my 908 g (2 lb) stash and 130 g (4.56 oz) cashews from my 2.270 kg (5 lb) stash. It doesn’t seem much when I actually type that out!

We didn’t stick to the original recipe that called for 2 cups of fresh strawberries. I really dislike for the volumetric measuring system… what the heck is 2 cups (480 ml) of strawberries worth in weight? I mean, the weight would be different if you had 2 cups of small strawberries than if you had big strawberries. It’s such an inaccurate way of measuring that I am surprised that anyone can reproduce recipes. I will always prefer weight measurements over volumes, but that’s just me. All of my recipes are created through weight, and any conversions are from the way I measure out one cup of something. Saying that, the way you and I measure one cup of something could be completely different. Ok, rant over.

I wanted to have an extra strawberry-ish pie, and wanted A to use the full 454 g (1 lb, 16 oz, ?? cups) of strawberries, but some had turned before we got to using them. He used what was left, which was 315 g (11 oz, around 3 cups for the size of strawberries I had). I was impatiently waiting for the cake to set, so A put it in the freezer, and although I had a piece whilst still “soft”, I preferred it frozen. It tasted like strawberry ice cream on top of a really thin, but delicious crust.

Make This Today. Your Belly and Taste Buds Will Thank You.

Update: on the second time of making this cake, I reduced the amount of honey considerably. The first time was way too sweet for me, but feel free to adjust the amount according to your taste. I also added thin slices of strawberries around the edge of the pan before pouring in the strawberry mix, because I’m fancy like that.

 
STRAWBERRY CREAM PIE (gluten-, dairy-, refined sugar-, soy-free)

adapted from coconutoil.com: strawberry cream pie

makes one 20 cm (8 inch) cake

 
Ingredients

For the crust/base

  • 68 g (¾ c) walnuts
  • 22 g (¼ c) unsweetened desiccated (shredded) coconut

For the filling

  • 130 g (1 c) raw cashews
  • 315 g (2 ¾ c) fresh ripe strawberries, hulled
  • ¼ teaspoon ground vanilla bean powder
  • 115 g (5 ½ tablespoons) raw honey, softened
  • 1 pinch sea salt
  • 200 g (1 c) extra-virgin coconut oil, melted and cooled

 
Method

1. Blitz together the crust ingredients in a food processor until the mixture looks like damp sand. Press into the bottom of a 20 cm (8 inch) round springform pan.

2. Blitz the cashews in a food processor until smooth (cashew butter). Add the remaining filling ingredients and blitz until smooth, scraping the bowl with a spatula to make sure everything is processed evenly.

3. Pour the filling into the crust. Freeze/chill cake until set. Remove from pan. To slice, use a warm knife. Enjoy!

3 thoughts on “Strawberry Cream Pie (gluten-, dairy-, refined sugar, soy-free)

  1. Pingback: Strawberry Cream Pie (gluten-, dairy-, refined sugar, soy-free)

  2. Pingback: No-Bake Paleo Pumpkin Cream Pie (Dairy-Free, Honey-Sweetened) | Honey and Spice

  3. Pingback: Strawberry Cream Pie (gluten-, dairy-, refined sugar, soy-free) | Ecodelphinus.com

Leave a Reply

