Nut- and Dairy-Free Basil Pesto

nut and dairy free pesto
I love pesto… on pasta… on rice… on potatoes… on almost anything!

However, I am dairy-free, so out goes the cheese.

I have made pesto with walnuts instead of pine-nuts for some time. This is because of the silly pine nut scare that went around. Nuts, nowadays for me, have become incredibly expensive. What was relatively affordable, sky-rocketed when I wanted to buy organic nuts that are not produced on peanut, soy or wheat lines. I still eat lots of nuts, but I’d rather eat them raw or home-roasted with salt and not waste them in pesto. 

What to do? What to do? Create a nut-free and dairy-free basil pesto! Just fresh basil, garlic, olive oil, lemon juice and seasonings. Simple. Delicious. Fresh. Delectable. Another plus of this recipe is that there are fewer calories (due to lack of nuts and/or cheese), which means you can dollop more onto whatever you want without the guilt!


NUT- AND DAIRY-FREE BASIL PESTO


Ingredients

  • 120 g (4.2 oz) fresh basil, include leaves and stems (waste not, want not)
  • 1-2 big garlic cloves, peeled, or more to taste*
  • 3 tablespoons, extra-virgin olive oil, or more to taste**
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice
  • salt and black pepper, to taste


Method

1. Blitz everything together in a food processor until a pesto-like consistency is reached. Dollop on anything and everything. Enjoy!

* A didn’t like the addition of fresh garlic because the flavor was too strong for him. I have always made pesto with garlic and I love it {… says I, as flowers wilt from my garlic breath}
** I like my pesto thick!

Leave a Reply

