Hummus & Veggie Nori Wraps

nori wraps


These wraps are simple, fresh, light, healthy and extremely delicious. I made them for my birthday lunch. I was not disappointed! Since then, I’ve made them numerous times for dinner. I devour them. The nori sheets make a great alternative to flour tortilla wraps, minus the gluten and carbs.

I make my own hummus for these wraps, and why not? I think I’ve only purchased store-bought hummus once and that was when I was on a road trip and wanted something to eat with my vegetables. It wasn’t great. Homemade is best! My favorite hummus is not the traditional chickpea (garbanzo beans) with tahini variety, but a black bean hummus without the tahini (great for people with a sesame seed allergy/sensitivity).

These wraps will work with almost any filling, but be careful with the wetter ingredients, such as tomatoes, cucumbers etc.

NOTE: I used chickpea hummus for this photograph.


HUMMUS & VEGGIE NORI WRAPS

makes 8 – 10 cm (4 inch) wraps

adapted from a house in the hills: nori veggie wraps


Ingredients

  • 300 g (10.5 oz) hummus
  • 75 g (2.6 oz) mixed spring greens
  • 1 medium carrot, thinly sliced
  • 1/2 small red pepper, de-stalked, de-seeded, thinly sliced
  • 1 ripe avocado, stone removed, sliced
  • 1/8th small red onion, thinly sliced
  • 4 – 20 cm (8 inch) roasted nori sheets


Method

1. Take one nori sheet and 1/4 of the hummus, spread a thick line right across the sheet, and smear a smidgen on the edge (this will act as the glue to hold the wrap together).

2. Layer with 1/4 mixed spring greens, carrots, peppers, avocado, red onion and wrap tightly, using the “glue” to stick the wrap together. Repeat with the other three nori sheets.

3. Slice in half crosswise and serve immediately. Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Hummus & Veggie Nori Wraps

Leave a Reply

