Crunchy Spiced Almonds

crunchy spiced almonds


Everybody who knows me, knows that I am nuts for nuts. Some time ago, I was really craving some crunchy almonds that were also sweet and spicy. I took a good recipe from the interweb and added a bit of cinnamon and chili. What could possibly go wrong with that? Hmm, well, unfortunately, these almonds didn’t hit the spot. I kept added more cinnamon and chili, but they still weren’t right. I gave up and just ate them as they were.

I cannot put my finger on what was wrong with these almonds, but I think it may have been the vanilla extract. It made them taste floral and cake-like, rather than the sweet and spicy that I was looking for. It may have also been the substitution from coconut sugar for cane sugar, but who knows? Not surprisingly, I won’t be wasting my ingredients on this recipe again.

NOTE: Me meddling with the recipe is in no indication that the original recipe was bad, I’m sure it was great, I just have the tendency to adapt recipes before trying the originals… itchy hands.


CRUNCHY SPICED ALMONDS

adapted from Christine’s Recipes: Roasted Almonds


Ingredients

  • 300 g (2 heaped c) raw organic almonds
  • 100 g (2/3 c) coconut sugar
  • ½ teaspoon sea salt
  • 1 egg white
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • ground cinnamon, to taste
  • chili flakes, to taste


Method

1. Preheat oven to 180 C / 350 F.

2. Place almonds on a baking tray / sheet in a single layer. Bake for 3-6 minutes, stirring to help them roast evenly. Allow to cool.

3. Reduce oven temperature to 160 C / 320 F.

4. Meanwhile, combine the coconut sugar, sea salt, egg white, vanilla, cinnamon and chili flakes until well blended.

5. Stir in the almonds to coat.

6. Transfer almonds to a lined baking tray / sheet and bake in preheated oven for about 15-20 minutes, or until nicely golden and dry looking. Be careful not to burn.

7. Let almonds cool before eating.

3 thoughts on “Crunchy Spiced Almonds

Leave a Reply

