Millet Pancakes (gluten- and dairy-free)

millet pancakes

Yes, I know, yet another gluten-, dairy-, gum- and psyllium-free pancake recipe.

Unfortunately, it’s not the best pancake recipe in the world. It has been included into my blog for completeness… one day, I’ll get it right. It’s definitely not a recipe I’d endorse because there’s just something not quite right about them. I’ve made them twice, and they are just so dry. When I mean dry, I mean if you dare eat one on its own with no syrup, you will most likely choke on them…they really are _THAT_ dry. It’s like eating a bucket of sand, but with flavor. I later read somewhere that millet flour has a tendency of making goods dry… d’uh, now you tell me! In my defense, I am new to this gluten-free “baking” malarkey.

Anyhow, these pancakes love to sop up as much maple syrup you dare to pour over them, but even then, the pancakes taste a bit odd. I figure the recipe is right, but the flour is not. A little bit of a shame really, but we’ll get there!


MILLET PANCAKES (GLUTEN- AND DAIRY-FREE)

Inspired by Feeding Jake: Millet Pancake Recipe

Makes about 8-10 pancakes (if my memory serves me correctly)


Ingredients

  • 105 g (3/4 c) millet flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 80 ml (1/3 c) unsweetened, plain almond milk (or other milk alternative), or as needed
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tiny pinch salt
  • coconut oil to cook


Method

1. Preheat a large frying pan/skillet on medium heat.

2. Mix together the millet flour and baking powder in a medium sized bowl.

3. Add the almond milk, egg and salt. Whisk until well combined. You’re looking for the consistency of double/heavy cream. Add more almond milk to thin, if necessary.

4. Add a little coconut oil to the pan/skillet and swirl to coat the bottom.

5. Add 2-3 tablespoons of the batter to the pan for each pancake. Cook until golden on one side, then carefully flip and cook until golden on the other side. Repeat with remaining batter. Enjoy!

Additional Note: Since the batter doesn’t hold together too well (no gluten, gum or psyllium), it is better to err on the smaller side for these pancakes, otherwise flipping them becomes a nightmare. Don’t say I didn’t warn you.

One thought on “Millet Pancakes (gluten- and dairy-free)

  1. Hi Linda! I am having fun browsing your blog. Have you tried adding applesauce (homemade, of course 😉) to your batter? That’s what I do to my “crêpes” batter, and it makes all the difference without changing the taste. You might also try something like puréed winter squash. Gluten-free cooking requires some tricks, let’s all share them!

Leave a Reply

