Potato Gnocchi (gluten- and dairy-free)

gf gnocchi


Success!! Soft, pillowy and creamy potato gnocchi that is not only gluten-free, but also dairy-free.

I want to jump up and down with joy. In fact, I nearly did when I tested the gnocchi dough to see if it would hold together. I placed one potato dumpling into a clear glass with hot water, and heated it in the microwave. I watched with great anticipation. When I saw the dumpling slowly rise to the surface, I nearly yelled “yessssssssssss”!

Why was I so excited? I was a little worried when I added too much of my flour blend. My original recipe had 300 g (2 c) plain (all-purpose) flour. When I used only 270 g (90 %) of my gluten-free flour blend, it became too dry. I could not roll into thin sausages and cut. Instead, I took small portions and squeezed them into gnocchi-sized pieces.

raw gf gnocchi

I’m not sure if this should be correct, since the gluten-recipe was easy to roll and cut. However, they tasted pretty darn good. I do know the age of the potatoes and flours could also make a difference in the amount of flour you need to add. If you would like roll and cut them, add a little less flour, and test if the dough holds together by dropping into a glass of boiling water, heated in a microwave.

The recipe is based on my traditional potato gnocchi recipe. Instead of butter, I used olive oil. Instead of plain (all-purpose) flour, I used a mixture of white rice flour, glutinous (sweet) rice flour and potato starch. I served mine tossed with garlic flakes, parsley, roasted pine nuts, olive oil, salt and pepper. It was perfect with some wilted spinach on the side.


POTATO GNOCCHI (GLUTEN- AND DAIRY-FREE)

Adapted from my recipe

Serves 4-6


Ingredients

  • 1 kg (2.2 lb) floury potatoes, such as King Edwards, Maris Pipers, or Russets
  • 4 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 large egg, beaten
  • 100 g (3/4 c and 1/2 tablespoon) glutinous (sweet) rice flour
  • 100 g (3/4 c and 1/2 tablespoon) white rice flour
  • 70 g (1/3 c and 1 1/2 tablespoon) potato starch
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt


Method

1. Scrub potato skins, and pierce each potato with a fork. Cook in the microwave using the “baked potato” function, if available; alternatively, place onto a plate, cover with cling film (plastic wrap) and microwave for 5 minutes on high, or until cooked all the way through.

2. When the potatoes are cool enough to handle, peel the skins off. Press the potatoes through a rice directly into a large bowl.

3. Add the salt, oil, egg, and half of the flours, mix well to bind. Turn onto a lightly floured surface and knead, gradually adding the remainder of the flours.

4. If the mixture is dry, squeeze into gnocchi-sized dumplings. Test by dropping one into a glass of boiling water and heating in a microwave. If the potato dumpling floats, you have added enough flour. If the mixture is smooth and still sticky, roll and cut to size.

5. Bring a large saucepan of salted water to the boil. Lower heat to a simmer, add the gnocchi and cook in batches for 2-3 minutes, or until they float to the surface. Remove cooked gnocchi with a slotted spoon and place into a warmed greased serving dish*. Serve with your favorite sauce. Enjoy!

* To freeze, cool under cold water, strain and toss in olive oil. Freeze. When ready to eat, cook from frozen, by microwaving the portion until heated through.

Leave a Reply

