Vegan Dark Chocolate Mousse

vegan chocolate mousse


For the last couple of months or so, I have not eaten meat. That’s is, I no longer participate in eating mammalian flesh. I do still eat seafood, eggs and specific dairy. I guess that I am a pescetarian to people who likes labels. Since this dietary change, I’ve worried about my protein intake, not that I ever ate that much meat before. My usual portion of meat was around 125-150 g (4.3-5.25 oz) for dinner.

Tofu is a great source of protein and fiber. I know many people don’t really like soy, but I do, but always make sure that it’s organic (and non-GMO). To make this delicious dessert only takes 2-3 main ingredients: silken tofu, dark (bittersweet or semisweet) chocolate and a sweetener. To make it fancier, you could add vanilla, mint, coffee extracts or orange zest.

This mousse is so simple to make, it’s ridiculous! I blitzed together (in a food processor, just in case your wondering) molten chocolate, silken tofu, sugar and orange zest, and then dumped the mousse into espresso cups. Anything that was left found its way into my belly, and boy, it was a happy belly!

This mousse is pretty light and airy once made, but when left to set in the refrigerator, it becomes a little more dense, like a chocolate pudding. I tend to prefer to let it set, because the flavors develop wonderfully.


VEGAN DARK CHOCOLATE MOUSSE

Makes 6-8 small servings

Ingredients

  • 454 g (1 lb or 16 oz) silken tofu
  • 50 – 100 g (1/4-1/2 c) raw cane (turbinado) sugar, or other sweetener, to taste
  • 227 g (8 oz) dark (bittersweet) chocolate, 70%+ cocoa solids, melted and cooled
  • freshly grated orange zest; mint, coffee or other extract (optional)


Method

1. Blitz silken tofu and sugar in a food processor until smooth and creamy.

2. Add the melted chocolate and other flavorings, if using, and blitz until evenly blended.

3. Pour into serving cups, bowls or directly into your mouth. Alternatively, you can chill the mousse for devouring later. Enjoy!

One thought on “Vegan Dark Chocolate Mousse

  1. Pingback: Finally catching up | Honey and Spice

Leave a Reply

