Apple Crumble with Oats

So, it seems that my sister, J, has started taking a passion into cooking. This doesn’t at all surprise me, considering I come from a family that is passionate about food. On Saturday, she was ranting about making apple crumble with custard on Facebook. I haven’t had apple crumble in yonks. She was going to have it with Ambrosia custard, oh yum. I just couldn’t get it out of my mind, I had to bake something!

I had lemons in the fridge, I was going to make lemon bars again, but then I thought sod it, I have all of the ingredients to make apple crumble, so why not? I ended up adapted a Jamie Oliver recipe, which was pretty good. I reduced the recipe by half, but kept the crumble topping the same. The crumble itself, has a little twist, in that it is made with wholemeal (whole wheat) flour and oats. However, you can go the whole hog and use flour, if you wish, or add chopped nuts.

The resulting crumble was delicious. I served it with homemade custard and I ate it all in one sitting. Not surprising that I had to pass out a little while afterwards though!

For the best results, try to use a smaller, but deeper dish, this will give you a thicker crumble on top.
APPLE CRUMBLE WITH OATS

Adapted from Jamie Oliver – Apple Crumble

Serves 4
Ingredients

Apple base

  • 450 g (1 lb) apples, peeled, cored and cut into chunks
  • 1 tablespoon water
  • 25 – 50 g (2 -4 tablespoons) raw cane (turbinado) sugar, depending on taste
  • 1 big pinch ground cinnamon

Crumble topping

  • 70 g (7 ½ tablespoons) wholemeal (whole wheat) flour
  • 70 g (4 ½ tablespoons) unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
  • 70 g (2/3 c) rolled oats
  • 25 g (2 tablespoons) raw cane (turbinado) sugar
  • 1 small pinch salt

Method

1. Preheat oven to 190°C (375°F).

2. Place apples, water, sugar and cinnamon into a small saucepan, and cook over medium-low heat for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally.

3. Meanwhile, make the crumble, by rubbing the butter into the flour until the mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Stir in the oats, sugar and salt.

4. Transfer apples into baking dish/bowl, level out gently, then scatter crumble over the top, do not press down.

5. Bake in middle of the oven for 20-25 minutes, or until the top is golden. Serve alone, with custard, cream or ice cream, enjoy!

Leave a Reply

