Dark Chocolate Sorbet – Vegan


I think it’s pretty safe to say that almost everyone loves ice cream. The only problem is that over the years, a lot of people have developed intolerances/allergies towards dairy, or simply choose to be dairy-free. Whichever of these categories you fit into, I’m sure you miss ice cream!

I love ice cream, but as you know, I have developed allergies towards American dairy. Imported European dairy is fine… I can easily eat 100 g (about ¼ lb) cheese in one sitting with no side effects. However, give me something with one spoon of American dairy (even if it’s organic) and I have the worst possible allergic reaction.

Until May this year, I had no idea that iced desserts, sorbets or dairy-free ice creams could taste so good. It was in Bella Gelateria, Vancouver B.C. where I tried my first chocolate sorbetto… man, it was the best thing ever! I would never have dreamed it was dairy-free unless I was told. From that point onwards, I started opting for dairy-free iced desserts or sorbets when we went out for a coffee. This was until about 2 weeks ago, when I saw some of PCC’s sorbet, packaged in small tubs in their freezers. On looking at the ingredients, I nearly smacked myself in the face. It had corn sugar in it. C-O-R-N sugar. Corn sugar is known to be a clever way of labeling high-fructose corn syrup. It really disgusts me that I ate that! Something is wrong in America, where sugar is consumed so freely and is in such demand, that they need to process corn to make a cheap sugar. I would quite happily pay higher prices for items made with organic CANE sugar. Sick, sick, sick!!!! Since then, I have boycotted eating iced desserts from coffee shops etc, unless I know of their exact ingredients.

One of my recent go-to substitutes is dark chocolate Coconut Bliss. However, since this has guar gum in it, I also have to be careful with how much I eat. Guar and xanthan gum are nasties to my stomach.

Because eating and enjoying food is a major part of my life, not being able to eat what I feel like when I go out is highly frustrating. But, since I have chosen to live in America, I have learnt to deal with it. This usually involves me coming up with recipes of my own.

Today’s blog entry is about chocolate sorbet. I would never have dreamed that a sorbet could taste so good! It’s simple to make, smooth, rich, chocolaty, dairy-free, and vegan friendly. Do not fret if you do not have an ice cream maker, I have included instructions for you.


DARK CHOCOLATE SORBET – VEGAN

Makes about 1 liter (1 quart)

Adapted from Bonnie the Baker – Chocolate Sorbet


Ingredients

  • 170 g (6 oz) dark chocolate* (at least 70%, I used 85%), broken into chunks
  • 600 ml (2 ½ c) filtered water, freshly boiled
  • 200 g (¾ c and 2 ½ tablespoons packed) dark muscuvado (brown unrefined) sugar
  • 75 g (¾ c) unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

* make sure the chocolate is dairy-free


Method

1. Place chocolate into a bowl, microwave on full power in 30 second bursts, stirring between each burst until fully melted and smooth.

2. In a large bowl, mix together half of the just-boiled water, sugar, cocoa and salt until well incorporated. There should be no sugar crystals left.

3.  Add the melted chocolate, remaining water and vanilla extract to the bowl and stir to combine.

4. Transfer mixture to a liquidizer (blender), and blitz for 1 minute. Chill the mixture in the liquidizer jug (pitcher) for 2-3 hours or until well chilled. The mixture will thicken as it cools.

5. Stir the chocolate mixture and churn/freeze in an ice cream maker**, according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Transfer to a plastic/glass container with lid and freeze overnight.

6. To enjoy, simply remove the sorbet from the freezer 10 minutes before scooping and enjoying.

** If you don’t have an ice cream maker, pour the chilled mixture into a durable container and freeze for 45 minutes. Remove from the freezer and stir it vigorously with a fork, whisk or hand (stick) blender. Make sure that you beat it up well, breaking up all frozen sections. Return the mixture to the freezer. Repeat this procedure every 30 minutes, stirring vigorously until the mixture is evenly frozen. This procedure will take about 3 hours in total.

Leave a Reply

