Chinese Grass Jelly with Rock Sugar Syrup


I’ve been going through a weird phase recently. I’ve been craving foods from my childhood… often the ones that I hated then. The most recent craving was Chinese grass jelly.

It was warm in Seattle for about a week, and all I could think about was a bowl of nicely chilled Chinese grass jelly with rock sugar syrup. Only I didn’t have any at home. The idea of this jelly normally disgusts me, but for some reason, I was really craving it! And BEFORE anyone asks, I’m NOT pregnant! I am sick and tired of hearing this. Can a woman not be content with being child-free?

Anyhow, I ended up picking up a couple of tins (cans) on Saturday morning from Uwajimaya. I popped one tin (can) into the fridge, and it’s been there for two weeks! It was only today that I got around to making this snack/dessert.

The jelly itself is an acquired taste – it’s not sweet, and has a distinct Chinese medicinal flavor. The description on Wikipedia is that it “has a slight bitter taste, a light iodine lavender flavor, and is a translucent black”. The traditional way of serving it is cubed with syrup, but it can also be blitzed with syrup or soy milk to make a refreshing drink.

To blog about this is a little crazy, but I am going to anyway. One of the key ingredients in this snack/dessert is rock sugar. You can buy rock sugar in any Chinese (Asian) supermarket (grocery store).


CHINESE GRASS JELLY WITH ROCK SUGAR SYRUP

Serves 4-5


Ingredients

  • 1 (540 g, 19 oz) tin grass jelly, well chilled and cut into cubes
  • rock sugar dissolved in a small amount of hot water, dependent on taste


Method

1. Divide cubes of jelly into 4-5 bowls or glasses.

2. Pour syrup over the jelly, and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

