Perfect Guacamole


I hate to say it, but I never tasted guacamole until I moved to the US. I used to eat avocados in the UK, but I never had guacamole. I can’t even remember when it was the first time I tried it. A few times after that, I used to purchase the guacamole kits from Trader Joes, which included a plum (roma) tomato, two avacodos, cloves of garlic, jalapeno pepper, shallot and a lime. I used to just pop everything into a food processor, season with salt and pepper and jobs-a-good-un.

That was until I made it very recently. My food processor had packed up, and my new one was on the way to me. I know you can make chunky guacamole, but I’d never tried it. I thought I preferred the smooth sort. Anyhow, I ended up just mashing the avocado slightly with a fork and mixing in the remaining ingredients. The result was so much better; I had no idea that not using the food processor would make such a difference. Or maybe it was because I now use fresher, better-quality organic ingredients?

This guacamole is perfect directly from the bowl, as a dip with tortilla chips or as a sandwich spread.


PERFECT GUACAMOLE

Makes 4 servings


Ingredients

  • 2 large ripe avocados
  • ½ small red onion, finely chopped
  • 1-2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 lime, juiced
  • jalapeno chili pepper*, finely chopped, to taste
  • 1-2 teaspoons ground cumin, or to taste
  • salt and freshly cracked black pepper to taste
  • 1 small vine-ripened tomato, finely diced (optional)

* other chili peppers or dried chilli flakes can be used


Method

1. Coarsely mash the avocado in a large bowl.

2. Stir in the red onion, garlic, lime juice and chili.

3. Season with cumin, salt and pepper.

4. Just before serving, stir in the tomatoes. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

