Easy Peasy Cream of Tomato Soup

  

I admit it… I used to eat and enjoy tinned soup. My old time favorite was Heinz cream of tomato soup. I devoured it with buttered bread – it was cheap and filling, what else could a poor student want? As my budget changed, I upgraded to Baxter’s Luxury flame roasted red pepper and tomato soup (which they no longer sell) or Cullen Skink, and then upgraded to Covent Garden’s fresh carton soups.

Times change. I no longer eat ready-made soups, and I very rarely order soups in restaurants – I simply make my own. You can put in whatever you feel like, and the combinations are only limited by your imagination. I do, however, miss my Heinz cream of tomato soup. It was tomato-ey, slightly tangy and incredibly creamy. I NEEDED to make a version at home, a dairy-free and vegan version.

I created this soup out of pure laziness and impatience. During my childhood, I used to spend hours on end drawing, painting and creating, yet I had no time for other things. My mother was always astounded at how impatient I was with one thing, yet incredibly patient with another.

This soup is probably the easiest soup that you’ll ever make. The only thing you need to chop is an onion, and if you’re really lazy, you can simply puree it in a food processor. It’s made with vine-ripened tomato puree, coconut milk, water, onions and seasoning. It’s creamy, tomato-ey, ever-so-slightly tangy and perfect for the cold winter months. The trick is to use the best quality tomato puree you can find.

  

EASY PEASY CREAM OF TOMATO SOUP
Serves 2-3

  

Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon olive oil
  • 1 small red onion, finely chopped or pureed in the food processor
  • 340 g (12 oz or 1 ⅓ c) vine-ripened tomato puree
  • 1 litre (4 c and 2 ½ tablespoons) boiling water
  • 2-3 teaspoons unrefined cane (turbinado) sugar, or to taste*
  • 2 teaspoons dried basil, crushed or to taste
  • 2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • 1 pinch dried garlic flakes
  • 1 small pinch dried chili flakes
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 240 ml (1 c) coconut milk, reserve 2-3 teaspoons for swirling if desired

* This will be dependent on the quality and sweetness of the tomato puree.

  

Method

1. Heat oil in a medium saucepan over medium heat until hot.

2. Saute onions until aromatic and translucent, about 3-5 minutes.

3. Add tomato puree, stir, then add water and stir until smooth.

4. Season with sugar, basil, paprika, garlic flakes, chili flakes and salt and pepper.

5. Bring to a gentle boil, then stir in coconut milk and adjust seasonings if required. Serve and enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Easy Peasy Cream of Tomato Soup

  1. Aww thanks for the comments, I was glad you stopped by!
    Yes, pb and other butters can be made without oil, I made them too this way. Almonds (if not roasted) are so hard to blend though. Have you tried coconut butter yet?
    xo

  2. YUM! I made a tomato soup with fresh tomatoes last week and will be posting it soon. Mine uses fresh tomatoes, but I like the option of using puree when fresh isn’t an option. Also, the coconut milk is a great idea for making it nice and creamy. *bookmarked*

    • Hello Pis, Thanks for visiting. This soup was made so long ago, I would need to make it again to see if it tasted anything like the Heinz tomato soup. It was good, don’t get me wrong. However, to get that real Heinz taste, I would use dairy cream as opposed to coconut milk. I can only suggest that you also try it. Since the recipe uses tinned tomato puree, it’s far less time consuming than making tomato soup from fresh tomatoes. Good luck!

      • Thank you, Thank you, Thank you. Heinz tomato soup is my bf’s fav, but buy it here is very overprice. That’s why i tempt to make for him and also it’s a challenge for me. The first batch i made was a lil tomatoey, so i cant wait to see and try your update recipe. xxx will try it asap and i will let you know!.

        Hang
        x

Leave a Reply

