Snickerdoodles

snickerdoodles

Before I moved to the US, I had no idea what a Snickerdoodle was.  After I had moved to the US, I still didn’t know what a Snickerdoodle was. The only thing I knew about them was that they were some sort of cookie with a strange name! Although I did like the idea of a cookie coated in cinnamon sugar, it was only during the 2012 holiday season did I actually get to try one! I wasn’t over the moon about them, but that’s only because I’m more of a crunchy or chewy cookie gal.

A couple of weeks ago, we decided to get a bunch of fresh baked cookies from PCC. I think the Baker’s dozen was $7.99 or something like that. I was so disappointed. Every cookie, although chewy, was not satisfying. Ok, I lie, not every cookie was chewy, the thumbprints were so vile we had to throw them out. The only redeeming feature of that cookie was the raspberry jam on top. It was a sad day!

Shortly afterwards, we picked up an assortment of cookies from Costco. Sorry ermm, I mean, the smell of the cookies forced us to pick up an assortment of cookies from Costco. We got home, and they were more vile than the PCC ones. The texture of these cookies tasted as if they were not fully baked. However, they looked fully baked. It had this indescribable flavor to them. They were so vile that they ended up in the trash. Now you know how I hate to waste food… but that’s just it, I don’t think they qualify as food, so in essence, we were not wasting them!

I decided to make two batches of cookies and freeze them. When we had a cookie craving, we could then put our delicious cookies in the oven for homebaked versions. I baked one batch of chocodamia cookies, and one batch of Snickerdoodles. I’d never made Snickerdoodles before, so I thought I’d try. I didn’t even know what they were supposed to look like, or really taste like, but apparently they were true to what they should taste like. I have to admit that these Snickerdoodles are pretty awesome! They are crisp at the edges, chewy in the center, yet still dreamily and meltingly soft. The cinnamon sugar is just the icing on the cake, or should I say cookie?

SNICKERDOODLES

Adapted from AllRecipes: Mrs Siggs Snickerdoodles

Makes 24

Ingredients

For the cinnamon sugar:

  • 1 tablespoon raw cane (turbinado) sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

For the cookies:

  • 60 g (1/4 c) salted European butter, softened
  • 40 g (1/4 c) cold pressed vegetable shortening
  • 75 g (6 tablespoons) raw cane (turbinado) sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 200 g (1 1/3 c) plain (all-purpose) flour
  • 1 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda (baking soda)


Method

1. Preheat oven to 200 C (400 F), and line 2-3 baking trays (cookie sheets) with parchment paper.

2. To make the cinnamon sugar: Mix together the sugar and cinnamon, set aside.

3. To make the cookies: Cream together the butter, shortening and sugar. Once combined, beat in the eggs and vanilla, and then the flour, cream of tartar and bicarbonate of soda (baking soda).

4. Shape the dough into 24 equal sized balls, an roll each into the cinnamon sugar to coat. Place each dough ball 5 cm (2 inches) apart on the prepared trays (sheets), and bake in the middle of the preheated oven for 8-10 minutes.

5. Transfer cookies immediately to a wire rack to cool. Enjoy!

One thought on “Snickerdoodles

  1. Pingback: Finally catching up | Honey and Spice

Leave a Reply

