Dark Chocolate and Peanut Butter Fudge

chocolate peanut butter fudge

 

Peanut butter and chocolate are the two things that I love, but rarely put them together. Why? I have no idea, because they are so good together!

A few years, I would have cringed over the thought. I didn’t grow up with peanut butter cups or anything of the sort. I liked peanut butter and I liked chocolate, but I’d never had them together. The closest thing I came to that was a Snickers bar.

So why this fudge? I wanted to something different. I have made dark chocolate fudge already, so why not add a new dimension to it? Although I had thought this up for some time, I had put off making it because I thought A wouldn’t like it. He told me he liked chocolate and peanut butter, but not together. The compromise was that I’d make a batch of dark chocolate fudge and this batch. Guess which one disappeared first? Yup, the choc/pb version.


DARK CHOCOLATE AND PEANUT BUTTER FUDGE

Adapted from Dark Chocolate Fudge and Joy of Baking – Peanut Butter Fudge

Makes 1 – 20 x 20 cm (8 x 8 in) tin, at least 64 squares


Ingredients

For the chocolate fudge

  • ½ (397 g, 13.92 oz) tin (can) sweetened condensed milk
  • 225 g (8 oz) dark chocolate, at least 70% cocoa solids, broken into chunks
  • 1 pinch of salt
  • 1 dash vanilla extract

For the peanut butter fudge

  • 140 g (½ c) smooth peanut butter
  • 115 g (½ c) unsalted butter, cut into pieces
  • 1 small pinch salt (optional)
  •  ½ teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 220 g (1 3/4 c) icing (powdered) sugar, sifted


Method

1. Line one 20 x 20 cm (8 x 8 inch) square tin with parchment paper.

2. For the chocolate fudge, place all the ingredients into a microwave-safe bowl. Pop into the microwave and “cook” for 2-3 minutes, then stir until the mixture is smooth and creamy. Pour into prepared tin, smooth out the surface with the back of a spoon and chill until set, about 1 hour.

3. For the peanut butter fudge, place the peanut butter, butter, salt, and vanilla extract into a clean microwave-safe bowl. Pop in the microwave and “cook” for 1-2 minutes, or until melted. Stir, then beat in the sugar until well mixed, and then spread over the chocolate fudge. Smooth off the fudge with the back of a spoon.

4. Chill until set, about 1-2 hours. Turn out, and cut into 1 inch pieces. Enjoy!

One thought on “Dark Chocolate and Peanut Butter Fudge

Leave a Reply

