Curry-Spiced Pumpkin, Chickpea & Spinach Soup


Winter is slowly creeping up on us. The long, cold, dark and wet nights are drawing closer. I think it’s time to make a hearty soup that is wholesome, delicious and vegetarian. This warming soup will be welcomed by anybody and everybody. It’s thick, creamy, lightly spiced and truly scrumptious. It’s best served with crusty bread.

Calling this soup a pumpkin soup is a little cheeky, because I used a winter squash. But I won’t tell anyone, if you don’t. I wanted to use kabocha, but when I got to PCC, but the harvest hasn’t been very good this year. I then reached for a winter squash I never purchased before – red kuri. It looks like a kabocha, only it’s bright orange in color, and the flesh is slightly sweeter. I favor kabocha and kuri red because the skin really doesn’t need to be removed when cooking, it’s edible, which basically means less waste. If you really want to use pumpkin, feel free, but I’m sure most of the winter squash will work well in this soup.


CURRY-SPICED PUMPKIN, CHICKPEA & SPINACH SOUP

Makes 4-6 bowls

Inspired by “Pumpkin, Chickpea and Spinach Soup” in “Caribbean Food Made Easy with Levi Roots


Ingredients

  • 1 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1 small onion, cut into chunks
  • 3 cloves garlic, gently crushed with the blade of a knife
  • 1 tablespoon finely chopped ginger
  • 600 g (1 ⅓ lb) pumpkin/squash flesh, chopped into 2.5 cm (1 inch) chunks or smaller
  • 1 – 410 g (14.4 oz) tin chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
  • 2 teaspoons garam masala powder*, or to taste
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 litre (4 cups) water or vegetable stock
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • 170 g (6 oz) fresh baby spinach leaves
  • chili flakes to garnish (optional)

* or your favorite curry powder


Method

1. Heat oil in a large saucepan until hot, then sauté onions, garlic and ginger until aromatic.

2. Stir in garam marsala and cumin, and cook for 30 seconds to 1 minute.

3. Add pumpkin/squash, chickpeas and stock.

4. Bring to the boil, and cook for 15-20 minutes or until pumpkin/squash is tender. Remove from heat.

5. Using a hand (immersion) blender and blitz until smooth, or leave a little chunky. If the soup is too thick, thin down with a little more water/stock. Season with salt and pepper.

6. Toss in spinach leaves and stir until wilted. Spoon into bowls, garnish with chili flakes and enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Curry-Spiced Pumpkin, Chickpea & Spinach Soup

    • wow – a comment from my favourite fresh soup brand. I really miss your soups in the US! Sorry, I can’t apply for the competition as I am currently living in the US, but thanks for visiting.

  1. Tried it, but had to use the organic canned pumpkin puree I had on hand. I must have done something wrong because it was on the bland side. Still, healthy and good. Next time I will up the garam masala and may add some lemon juice.

    • Hi Jessica, I’m sorry that you found the soup on the bland side. I understand that the age of spices may be different, and so are all our taste buds. This is why I normally suggest a measurement, or to taste. I also tend to taste the dish before serving it, just to make sure. You can never really trust actual seasoning measurements on recipes. I’m glad that you’ll try again with more spice and lemon juice though. Good luck :).

  2. Woweee, I was looking for a recipe to make a pumpkin soup this week as i’ve been carving pumpkins (or at least, a pumpkin) ready for halloween! I didn’t want to waste the gubbins of the pumpkin, but I also wanted a recipe that deterred from your bog standard pumpkin soup. I found in a friends kitchen at the weekend, Levi Roots version of this, but, forgot to copy it down. Luckily I managed to stumble across this version, thanks to a bit of googling. It smells and tastes amazing! I didn’t have as much pumpkin as i’d have liked, and I spiced it up quite a bit- but overall, delicious! I’ll be making this again very soon :-)

Leave a Reply

