Chewy Flour Tortillas

 

I LOVE flour tortillas! The only issue is that I can’t find any shop-bought varieties that I’d like to eat. The ones that are made with organic ingredients still contain xanthan gum or cornstarch (US) (cornflour (UK), modified or otherwise). The only tortillas I do eat are the Ezekiel sprouted grain tortillas, and although they are really good, they just don’t quite hit the spot. They are harder, less pliable and far less chewy than a really good flour tortilla.

I’ve made numerous versions of homemade tortillas, none of which has satiated my craving. I’ve tried ones with all white flour, all whole wheat flour, half of each, with oil, without oil, with butter, without butter….. arrgh, I got so frustrated that I put that project on hold.

That was until I stumbled across the homesick Texan’s blog. She had a flour tortilla recipe titled “An end to my quest: flour tortillas”. I saved it in my favourites, and many months went by before I even gave it another glance.

One weekend I was making chicken fajitas, and I really wanted flour tortillas with them. The deliciously chewy ones, not the rock hard, break in your hand sprouted grain ones. So I dug out the recipe and gave it a go. Boy, was I surprised. She was right! My quest is also now over!!!!

The tortillas are soft, chewy and oh-so-delicious! They went brilliantly with my chicken fajitas. When we have fajitas for dinner, it’s usually a quick occasion, however I added 30 minutes to my cook time, but it was so worth it!

Anyone who tries this recipe will not be disappointed. I must however warn you, that to make one batch, that is 8 tortillas, your arms will ache for 1-2 days after from the rolling! Again, so worth it! 

 

CHEWY FLOUR TORTILLAS

Makes 8

Adapted from Homesick Texan’s – Flour Tortillas

 

Ingredients

  • 150g (1 c) plain (all-purpose) flour
  • 150g (1 c) whole wheat flour*
  • 1 ½ teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 2 teaspoons groundnut oil
  • 180 ml (¾ c) warm soy milk**

* If you’re not a fan of whole wheat flour, use 100% white flour

** You can also use any other milk substitute or dairy milk

 

Method

1. In a large bowl, mix together flours, baking powder and salt.

2. In a measuring jug, mix together oil and milk.

3. Gradually add the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients. Work into a loose and slightly tacky dough ball with your fingertips.

4. Cover bowl with cling film (plastic wrap) and rest for 20 minutes.

5. Divide the dough into 8 equal sized pieces. Cover under a damp towel and rest for another 10 minutes.

6. Preheat a large frying pan over medium heat.

7. Take one ball of dough and roll on a lightly floured surface to a 20 cm (8 inch) circle.

8. Place onto the dry heated frying pan and cook for about 30 seconds to 1 minute on each side^. It should slightly puff up when it’s done. Wrap in a couple of tea (kitchen) towels and keep warm.

9. Meanwhile, roll out the second ball of dough. Repeat until all the tortillas are rolled and cooked. These tortillas can be reheated in the oven, wrapped in foil or in the microwave, in a sealed freezer bag. Enjoy!!!

^ Try not to overcook these, otherwise they will get hard and dry.

3 thoughts on “Chewy Flour Tortillas

  1. Pingback: Oven-Baked Tortilla Chips « Honey and Spice

Leave a Reply

